Why I’m talking about Doctor Who

In July of this year I reached a significant milestone – I completed my Doctor Who DVD collection.

This is the culmination of a journey that began with the BBC repeating Genesis of the Daleks on BBC 2 in January 1993. As a six year old I was utterly hooked and spent the coming weeks drawing Daleks on every sheet of paper in the house … and the coming years badgering my dad to buy as many of the stories on VHS as he could!

Twenty years later, I am now in the position that I have watched every episode of the classic 26 seasons at least once – at least of those serials that have all of their episodes.

I was considering how to mark the occasion, and purely for my own amusement, decided to rank the serials in order of preference. Like all fans I have always had stories I have enjoyed more than others, but one of the joys of building my collection was discovering the gems among those stories I had never seen before – even if that also meant bearing with some of the duds!

So over the coming months, I will be reviewing the 157 serials from ‘An Unearthly Child’ in 1963 to the TV Movie of 1996, beginning with my least favourite serial and concluding with my favourite serial. As with all fan reviews this is a highly subjective review, and will undoubtedly have many controversies along the way. I’m hoping you will forgive me where my judgement of serials is at variance with yours, and that you will enjoy the journey!

One thought on “Why I’m talking about Doctor Who

  1. Pingback: Villain Countdown No. 2 – The Daleks | Dan talks Doctor Who

Leave a Reply

