The Five Faces of Doctor Who … revisited?

Much entertainment was caused by blogger Kippy Woo when the following question was asked on Twitter:


This had been a question I had been pondering myself from the distinct angle of introducing a new generation of Doctor Who fans to some of the best stories of the classic era – so it was nice to see other fans thinking along similar lines, and interesting to note that the BBC were potentially contemplating it. Merely filler until we get Series 10 … or did they have more in mind …? (I return to this question shortly!)

I posted my own choices (and actually misremembered my choice for Colin Baker in my reply tweet):

  1. The Dalek Invasion of Earth
  2. Tomb of the Cybermen
  3. The Daemons
  4. Pyramids of Mars
  5. The Caves of Androzani
  6. Vengeance on Varos (I had posted Mark of the Rani for some odd reason …)
  7. Remembrance of the Daleks
  8. The Movie
  9. Dalek
  10. Waters of Mars
  11. Flesh and Stone/The Time of Angels
  12. Under the Lake/Before the Flood

Let’s suppose however there was a different focus – let’s say (for example) we deliberately restricted ourselves to four part adventures, edited into a 45 minute format to fit with the contemporary style. If they really wanted to push the boat out, they could even edit the title sequence to match today’s credits, and colourise the Black and White episodes. Then the classic stories might look like this:

  1. The War Machines
  2. Tomb of the Cybermen
  3. The Time Warrior
  4. Pyramids of Mars (or City of Death; or Robots of Death; take your pick really!)
  5. The Caves of Androzani
  6. Vengeance on Varos
  7. Remembrance of the Daleks (or The Curse of Fenric)

I have, however, one final and very mischievous suggestion, which answers the following question: “Why would the BBC repeat classic materialĀ now of all times?” As everyone knows, the Daleks are an integral part of Doctor Who. So surely the obvious thing to do would be reprise the best Dalek stories for each Doctor from the original series run. That would look like this:

  1. The Daleks
  3. Day of the Daleks (the Special Edition from the DVD, which is frankly awesome)
  4. Genesis of the Daleks
  5. Resurrection of the Daleks
  6. Revelation of the Daleks
  7. Remembrance of the Daleks

“Aha!” you may well say – we cannot do this, because the nearest we have to a Patrick Troughton Dalek adventure is episode 2 of The Evil of the Daleks. Which leads to my mischievous thought: “What if the BBC knew they had a complete Dalek story for each Doctor?”

Absolutely rabble rousing, surely speculation, and definitely not grounded on any kind of fact, inside knowledge, or certain anticipation. But still quite fun to imagine that a classic series re-run might be an excuse to launch DVD sales for Power of the Daleks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s